

### Minutes

At an Extraordinary General Meeting of the Full Council held at Council Chamber, County Hall, Preston, on Thursday, 23rd February, 2023

### Present:

County Councillor Peter Britcliffe (Chairman)

### **County Councillors**

T Aldridge A Ali OBE U Arif T Ashton N Aziz R Bailey S Barnes L Beavers J Berry P Buckley J Burrows A Cheetham S Clarke A Clempson M Clifford L Collinge J Couperthwaite L Cox A Cullens BEM M Dad BEM JP F De Molfetta G Dowding C Edwards

A Fewings J Fillis A Gardiner J Gibson G Gooch M Goulthorp M Green H Hartley C Haythornthwaite N Hennessy S Hind S Holgate T Hurn K Iddon A Kav H Khan E Lewis M Maxwell-Scott G Mirfin S C Morris D O'Toole J Oakes J Parr

M Pattison E Pope J Purcell J Rear P Rigby S Rigby A Riggott M Salter S Serridge J Shedwick J R Singleton JP S Smith K Snape A Sutcliffe R Swarbrick M Tomlinson C Towneley S Turner A Vincent D Westley P Williamson R Woollam **B** Yates

# 1. Apologies and Announcements

Apologies for absence were received from County Councillors David Howarth, Lian Pate, John Potter, Alan Schofield and Sue Whittam.

Apologies for absence were also presented on behalf of Mrs Susie Charles.

1

County Councillors Mohammed Iqbal, Sobia Malik and Yousuf Motala joined the meeting remotely.

## 2. Disclosure of Pecuniary and Non-Pecuniary Interests

None declared.

### 3. Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

It was moved by County Councillor Phillippa Williamson and seconded by County Councillor Azhar Ali:

That having regard to the eminent services rendered to Lancashire County Council by former County Councillors Albert Atkinson, Terry Burns, Susie Charles, Kevin Ellard, Elizabeth Oades, and George Wilkins, the County Council confers on them the title of Honorary Alderman of the County Council.

County Councillor Gina Dowding spoke in support of the Motion.

The Motion was then further supported by County Councillors David O'Toole, Azhar Ali, Phillippa Williamson, Matthew Tomlinson, Gina Dowding and John Shedwick who each spoke in turn to specifically support former County Councillors Albert Atkinson, Terry Burns, Susie Charles, Kevin Ellard, Elizabeth Oades, and George Wilkins respectively.

Upon being put to the vote, the Motion was carried.

It was therefore:

**Resolved**: - That having regard to the eminent services rendered to Lancashire County Council by former County Councillors Albert Atkinson, Terry Burns, Susie Charles, Kevin Ellard, Elizabeth Oades, and George Wilkins, the County Council confers on them the title of Honorary Alderman of the County Council.

The Chairman of the County Council then presented certificates to Honorary Aldermen Albert Atkinson, Terry Burns, Kevin Ellard, Elizabeth Oades and George Wilkins who each addressed the Council and thanked the Council for the honour bestowed upon them.

### 4. Urgent Business

There was no urgent business to be considered.

Angie Ridgwell Chief Executive

County Hall Preston



lancashire.gov.uk